“I go ´til I run out of gas!”


synapsesimages1

I go ’til I run out of gas.

 

Los Padrinos Juvenile Hall, Downey, CA  December 3, 2013

I’ve been here four times. This time I’ve been here a week. I’m from Watts. I live with my mom and my grandma. My brothers and sisters live with my stepdad. I’m gonna go on placement next week. I’m in sixth grade. I want to be somewhere else, so I take the car. I don’t know where I go, I just drive. My feet can sort of touch the pedals. I taught myself to drive. I go ’til I run out of gas. I cant really read the signs. It doesn’t matter. I don’t go nowhere, I go anywhere. I just drive.

-C.B., age 11

**Interviews with youth are recorded to the best of our ability. All personal histories and anecdotes are self-reported by the children. To protect confidentiality of the youth, identities have been obscured, initials have been changed, and identifying details have been removed. Interviews have not been edited or altered for content.

Wavatar

One thought on ““I go ´til I run out of gas!”

Leave a Reply

