ACCUSED JUSTKIDS


Accused

"Accused" by Jabriera H.

“Accused” by Jabriera H.

At the hands of someone else I was confined in an adult detention center at the age of 16. I was accused of a crime that I didn’t commit. I was the littlest thing in a jumpsuit…it didn’t even fit. Where is the justice in punishment vs. rehabilitation? There was still time to save me but instead they locked me up and threw away the key. ACCUSED! I was held pre-trial for 11 months and then transferred down to where I belonged in the juvenile system. Now, you tell me why I chose the word. It fits, doesn’t it? The bottom line is: No youth should be held in an adult jail.

-Jabriera H.

http://justkidsmaryland.wordpress.com/2014/01/21/accused/

Leave a Reply

